Petitgirard SOUEN WOU K’ONG Oboe Concerto (World Premiere)

Repertoire Oboe Concerto, by Laurent Petitgirard

Flamboyant French oboist and conductor François Leleux is a regular and much-loved collaborator with the Orchestra: his larger-than-life personality and breathtaking musical prowess have charmed and delighted SCO audiences across several seasons.

Leleux gives the world premiere performance of a brand new oboe concerto, written specially for him by prolific Parisian composer Laurent Petitgirard, widely admired for his evocative film scores. Entitled SOUEN WOU K’ONG, the concerto takes its inspiration from the Monkey King of Chinese legend, who embarks on an adventure-filled Buddhist pilgrimage with the monk Tripitaka and spirits Pigsy and Sandy.

Leleux opens with Bizet’s stirring incidental music to L’Arlésienne, and closes with Beethoven’s Second Symphony, written while the composer was reeling from the diagnosis of his on-coming deafness, but bristling with happiness, humor and all the power of a coiled spring.

Performers Scottish Chamber Orchestra, François Leleux
Promoter Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Submitted by Scottish Chamber Orchestra

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.