About New Music Scotland

New Music Scotland is a network of artists, ensembles, orchestras, composers, creators, music educators, sound artists, musicians, producers, promoters and anyone who believes in the importance and value of creating new music in Scotland. We are an organisation (SCIO Charity No SC049720) that exists to connect, enable and support makers of innovative and experimental new music and our members help drive how we do that.

We believe that new music comes from many different cultural traditions and musical practices; what brings us all together is our passion for and belief in the intrinsic value of new music creation for individuals and society as a whole.

New music practices can include (but are not limited to): Acoustic Ecology / Avant-garde music / Co-improvisation / Contemporary chamber music / Contemporary opera / Contemporary orchestral music / Contemporary vocal and choral music / Computer music / Electroacoustic music / Electronica Experimental music / Experimental world music / Experimental folk music / Free improvisation / Invented instruments / Microtonal music / Musique actuelle / Radio art / Sound art / Uncategorisable musical practices.

Guided by a Board of Trustees from across the sector, a Project Manager, who co-ordinates and plans activity, acting as the lynchpin for the network, as well as a Digital Officer, who looks after our social media networks, collates the monthly bulletin of activity, and focuses on the online and digital presence of NMS. Both roles are part time.

Typical activity throughout the year includes the Scottish Awards for New Music, a Professional Development programme (the Time Out peer-to-peer residency, regular CPD workshops), monthly Bulletin of activity, the In Cahoots conference, regular networking events, advocacy for the sector on specific issues and at major international events, and maintaining and developing social networks and online activity.

The team is:

Project Manager

Digital Officer - Matthew Whiteside -

Awards Manager: Sophie Sim -

Board Trustees:

Co-Chair: Bill Sweeney

Co-Chair: Ruta Vitkauskaite 


John Harris

Andy Saunders

Kevin Leomo

Fiona Robertson



Environmental Policy

Privacy Policy

Equalities Policy


New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.