Ether/Real: an exploration of graphic scores

  • 1 Dec 2020, 10 a.m., Zoom, (on-line), Session 1
  • 5 Nov 2020, 7 p.m., Zoom, (on-line), Session 2
  • 18 Nov 2020, 7 p.m., Zoom, (on-line), Session 3
  • 23 Nov 2020, 7 p.m., Zoom, (on-line), Session 4
  • 7 Dec 2020, 7 p.m., Zoom, (on-line), Session 5

Repertoire KRAGRAGA, by Ruta Vitkauskaite

About the Project

As we move into winter, and the days get darker, CoMA Glasgow invites you to expand your imagination and be inspired by our collection of graphic scores.

A highlight of the project will be 'Buddha' by Julius Eastman, a semi-graphic single-page score. Julius Eastman’s music, which had been lost for decades, was only recently rediscovered and has been growing in popularity with musicians since. Anton Lukoszevieze, cellist and director of Apartment House, became an advocate of his music in the UK: “I first performed Eastman’s music in 2016, which was a revelation for me, as the extant scores are rather fragmentary and incomplete. Some are even just transcriptions from archive recordings”. We are delighted that Anton Lukoszevieze will be introducing us to the score during the project.

We will also explore the colourful score of ‘KRAGRAGA’ by our music director Rūta Vitkauskaitė, and delve into scores by Heidi von Gunden and Christian Wolff.

Graphics by Yannis Xenakis, that merge architecture and music, will take us on a challenging journey of mathematics and precision. Finally, we will explore a score written specifically for this project by our CoMA Glasgow composer Simon Hellewell, introduced by the composer himself.

Besides performing, we will also be creating our own collaborative graphic postcards, inspired by the Scottish winter.

The project will take place over five online Zoom rehearsals, concluding in our first ever CoMA Glasgow (online) Christmas Concert which will be broadcast via YouTube on Saturday 12 Dec 2020 at 17:00.

  • Sunday 1 Nov 2020, 10:00-12:00
  • Thursday 5 Nov 2020, 19:00-21:00
  • Wednesday 18 Nov 2020, 19:00-21:00
  • Monday 23 Nov 2020, 19:00-21:00
  • Monday 7 Dec 2020, 19:00-21:00

To make the project effective, please only register if you can attend all/most of the sessions. If you want to discuss anything with us please email

How to Participate

All you need to take part is a device capable of running Zoom (computer, laptop, iPad, tablet etc.) with an inbuilt or peripheral webcam and microphone/speakers. If you have access to professional microphones or other equipment it would be great to use this though not essential.

The CoMA Glasgow team will send out full joining instructions ahead of each session.

Costs / Donations

CoMA Glasgow runs its projects on a pay what you can afford model. We want to ensure that ‘Contemporary Music for All’ is truly accessible to everyone, especially in this challenging economic climate.

In the days leading up to the event, we will send you a welcome email giving details of how to pay. If you feel that you can contribute, even £5 towards our costs really goes a long way to ensuring we can continue to deliver exciting projects. Our committee members cover the costs of the project from their own pockets if the project makes a loss, so every donation is hugely appreciated.

If you are new to CoMA Glasgow, you can join the project for free, and then make a donation at a later time if you prefer.

Register on Eventbrite, and do not hesitate to get in touch if any questions.

Submitted by Ruta Vitkauskaite

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.