BBC SSO: Anna Clyne's 'This Midnight Hour'

Repertoire This Midnight Hour, by Anna Clyne

Anna Clyne
This Midnight Hour (12 mins)
Frédéric Chopin
Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor (40 mins)
Béla Bartók
Concerto for Orchestra (38 mins)

Chopin’s first Piano Concerto is one from the heart. Full of youthful simplicity and captivating in its ravishing slow movement, succumb to its Romantic charm with the wonderful Zlata Chochieva at the keyboard. Whether quietly mysterious, joyously abandoned, or full of blazing intensity, Bartók’s Concerto is one of the great orchestral showcases, its spikiness swathed in the bright colours of Hungarian folk music. It’s the perfect vehicle for the orchestra and tonight’s conductor, the electrifying Joana Carneiro. And to begin, a thrillingly dramatic opener from Anna Clyne intended to ‘evoke a visual journey’. Imaginations at the ready…

This concerts ends at approximately 9:30pm.

Performers BBC SSO
Promoter BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation)
Submitted by BBC SSO

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.