BBC SSO: Ilan Volkov conducts Bartók, Xenakis & Ligeti

Repertoire Atrées, by Iannis Xenakis

Iannis Xenakis
Atrées (15 mins)
Claude Debussy
Jeux (35 mins)
György Ligeti
Ramifications (9 mins)
Béla Bartók
Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta

Our Principal Guest Conductor, Ilan Volkov, can always be relied upon to champion the unfashionable. Born a century ago, Iannis Xenakis trained as an architect and although his music is rarely performed, its influence is huge (his nerveshredding sounds are regularly plagiarised by horror films). The chamber work 'Atrées' opens this concert of 20th century masters.

Whether it’s Debussy, arguably at his greatest in music for a ‘danced poem’, or Ligeti building layers of swirling, scuttling sounds, or Bartók at his most haunting, these are visionary works that retain a power to surprise and provoke. Easy listening? Not always. Bold, stimulating, gripping listening? Open your ears and decide…

Performers BBC SSO
Promoter BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation)
Submitted by BBC SSO

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.