BBC SSO: World Premiere by Lisa Illean

  • 1 Feb 2024, 2 p.m., City Halls, Glasgow, Scotland, UK, Tickets

Repertoire New Work, by Lisa Illean; Cello Concerto, by Edward Elgar; Symphony No.3, by Johannes Brahms

“Free but happy” is the motto that Brahms gave to his Third Symphony, and it opens with all the freshness of a summer storm. What comes next is a musical landscape of rolling clouds, tender lullabies, and radiant sunsets: a haunting finish to a concert that’s all about light, shade, and deep feelings. If you thought Elgar’s popular Cello Concerto was merely the sound of green fields and rolling hills, think again, as cellist Dai Miyata – praised by critics for his “sublime beauty of tone” – joins Ryan Wigglesworth to uncover its troubled soul. And explore a new world of sound from the imagination of Lisa Illean, who creates music (it’s been said) from “exquisitely quiet shadows”.

This concert ends at approximately 3:50pm.

Performers BBC SSO, Ryan Wigglesworth, Dai Miyata
Promoter BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Submitted by BBC SSO

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.