OVER / AT presents: A/am/ams (come ashore; turn over)

  • 28 Sep 2021, 7 p.m., Civic House, Glasgow, Scotland, UK, None
  • 28 Sep 2021, 8:15 p.m., Civic House, Glasgow, Scotland, UK, None

Repertoire A/am/ams (come ashore; turn over), by Rufus Isabel Elliot

“When a met e, tha sgith was blue…”


Rufus Isabel Elliot's new work is the story of two characters, A/am/ams and E/e/e, walking forever down an eternal beach, spiralling down and down and down. There’s a Beckettian mystery – who are these characters, and what happened between them? 


The music features Scots traditional singer Josie Vallely, a.k.a. Quinie. There's a small supporting cast of instruments with their own characters, who each also "speak" in their own way, played by three other musicians whose work spans traditional, experimental, and classical modes – Stevie Jones (Sound of Yell), Harry Gorski-Brown,  and Andrew Herrington (Awkward Family Portraits). 


The work also features a new text by Rufus, which imagines a new mouthful-of-sand  future-language of the North West, spanning Older Scots and Middle English, which is presented alongside a new Gaelic interpretation of the text, by Cass Ezeji.


Please note: this event will have a small, physically distanced audience.


Run time is approx. 45 minutes


The 2021 OVER / AT season has been developed as part of Sound and Music’s Composer-Curator project, in partnership with Supersonic Festival, which is funded by Arts Council England and PRSF. ATLAS Arts have acted as a partner organisation in developing the context of A/am/ams in Skye, and our workshops and performances in Elgol. 


A/am/ams was initially developed with singer Lea Shaw and with support from Magnetic North during the 2020 Lockdown.

Performers Over / At
Promoter Over / At
Submitted by Rufus Isabel Elliot

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.