Aurora, Double bass concerto

Repertoire Aurora, by Peter Eötvös

Postponed from 2020, the ravishing Aurora by brilliant Hungarian composer Peter Eötvös gets its first UK performance, with the SCO’s own Principal Double Bass Nikita Naumov – a deeply expressive, charismatic player – as soloist. Eötvös surrounds the audience with sound in this exquisitely coloured concerto, inspired by contemplating the Northern Lights aboard a plane high above Alaska.

Followed by Mendelssohn Overture Die schöne Melusine and Haydn Symphony No 92 ‘Oxford

Performers Nikita Naumov, Thomas Zehetmair
Promoter Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Submitted by Scottish Chamber Orchestra

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.