The Wonders of Nature

Repertoire The Blurred Lines of Archipelagos, by Electra Perivolaris; White City, by Gillian Walker; Do you remember when the rain came?, by Georgina MacDonell Finlayson

Conductor: Catherine Larsen-Maguire
Bassoon: Cerys Ambrose- Evans
Cello: Philip Higham

MOZART Bassoon Concerto in B-flat Major, K.191 
DVOŘÁK The Bohemian Forest: Silent Woods, for Cello and Orchestra 
DVOŘÁK Rondo for Cello and Orchestra 
DVOŘÁK Czech Suite in D Major, Op. 39 

Take a revitalising trip into the wonders of nature in the company of brilliant British conductor Catherine Larsen-Maguire and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra.

Young composers Electra Perivolaris, Gillian Walker and Georgina MacDonell Finlayson are three of the most exciting figures in Scottish new music. They have been collaborating with SCO Associate Composer Anna Clyne to create new pieces describing the beauty of Scottish landscapes: their brand new Suite of takes its inspiration from contemporary Scottish poetry.

The SCO’s exceptional Principal Cellist Philip Higham is the soloist in Dvořák’s dreamy Silent Woods, an atmospheric musical portrait of Bohemia’s brooding forests. The same composer conjures boisterous bagpipes and joyful pastoral celebrations in the delectable set of Bohemian folk dances of his Czech Suite, brimming over with strongly flavoured melodies.

In between, the SCO’s charismatic Principal Bassoonist Cerys Ambrose-Evans performs the sole surviving Bassoon Concerto by the 18-year-old Mozart – music to delight and entertain, but full of dashing wit and dazzling virtuosity.

Performers Scottish Chamber Orchestra, Catherine Larsen-Maguire
Promoter Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Submitted by Scottish Chamber Orchestra

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.