Ronald MacNiven

Creator, Performer (individual)

Ronnie MacNiven is one of Scotland's most versatile musicians, working across a diverse range of fields and genres. After leaving school he studied trombone and composition at The Royal Academy of Music in London. Upon graduating from there he held several positions with ensembles around the world including The National Chamber Orchestra of South Africa and The Scottish National Jazz Orchestra, where he had the privilege of working alongside Ingrid Jensen, Dave Liebman, Joe Lovano, Gerard Presencer, Maria Schneider and Kenny Wheeler.

Second Prize in the Maggini String Quartet Composers’ Competition and performances at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival were followed up by Third Place in The 2 Agosto Prize in Bologna, Italy. He returned to higher education in 2013, graduating with an MMus in composition from The University of Glasgow a year later.

Recent performances have included Crescent City Soliloquy, composed in 2010 for Duo X, and Tanabata, performed by The Red Note Ensemble at The Sound Festival in Aberdeen, 2015. His string octet, entitled Oirthir Gàidheal, derives from the Gaelic meaning ‘Coast of the Gaels.’ Another notable piece in his output, Cassiopeaia Dances, was written for the unorthodox combination of Oboe, French Horn and Harpsichord as part of the centenary commemorations of Debussy’s death in 2018, and was performed in Manchester and Glasgow. La Mort Parfumée, composed for flute quartet, was premiered in Kirkcaldy in April 2019. Trombone quartet Eástre: Hymn to the Sun received special mention in the 2020 BTS Composers' Competition. 2021 saw the completion of Milton Inventions, written for and premiered by the the Japanese vibraphone virtuoso Mizuki Aita. Premiered by Orkney Camerata in May 2022 at St Magnus Cathedral in Kirkwall, February Moon was composed for the George Mackay Brown centenary celebrations. His most recent piece, Twilight’s Breath for wind ensemble received its premiere at the 2022 York Wind Chamber Music Course. In 2023 he embarked on a cycle of works for solo woodwind instruments based on the avian world; Trickster Raven for oboe; Strix for Bassoon; and Kōtuku for clarinet. the final piece in the series will be for flute, tentatively titled Suzaku.

Among his interests outside music he lists detective fiction, philately and Sudoku.

Residence/Main Office Glasgow
Contact email


Title Year composed Instrumentation Genre
Japonica 2015 Ensemble (no conductor)
See the full list of works by Ronald MacNiven


Date Title Venue
9 Feb 2022, 8 p.m. The Night With... New Antonine Brass Quintet Black Box, Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK
10 Feb 2022, 8 p.m. The Night With... New Antonine Brass Quintet Drygate, Glasgow, Scotland, UK
11 Feb 2022, 8 p.m. The Night With... New Antonine Brass Quintet Summerhall, Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
12 Feb 2022, 8 p.m. The Night With... New Antonine Brass Quintet Belmont Film House, Aberdeen, Scotland, UK

Add a new

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.