Ave Maris Stella
Helen Mackinnon


Ave Maris Stella is a setting of the sacred Latin text for Solo Mezzo and String Orchestra. The work premiered with the Subutica Philharmonic Orchestra in Serbia with soloist Alenka Ponjavić Vojnić in 2019.

Instrumentation Genre Ensemble (with conductor)
Tag string orchestra
Duration 6 minutes
Instrumentation Mezzo-soprano [1 player]; Violin 1 (section) [8 players]; Violin 2 (section) [8 players]; Viola (section) [6 players]; Cello (section) [4 players]; Doublebass (section) [2 players]

Performances of this work

Date Venue Performer Link
12/12/2019 (*premiére) City Hall, Subotica, Serbia, RS

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.