Hebrides Ensemble: RCS@175 Staff Composer Focus

Repertoire Flute Trio, by Tom David Wilson; Sadness, by Kate Moore; Ixion, by Stuart MacRae; Gliese 581c, by Emily Doolittle; Woogie Boogie, by Errollyn Wallen; Ursa Minor, by Stuart MacRae

With distinctive and exciting young composers emerging every year, the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland has a proud history of developing new talent. Hebrides Ensemble marks RCS@175 by celebrating staff composers that have fostered a golden age in Scottish composition.

The programme includes music by Stuart MacRae as featured on our most recent Delphian Records release, alongside works by Emily DoolittleTom David Wilson, and Visiting Professors Kate Moore and Errollyn Wallen. In keeping with our longstanding role of supporting emerging talent, we will also give the first performance of a new work from composition student Mingdu Li.

Hebrides Ensemble is proud of its longstanding relationship with the RCS, and is delighted to have this opportunity to celebrate the distinctive and talented staff composers in this special anniversary year.

Performers Hebrides Ensemble
Promoter The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
Submitted by Hebrides Ensemble

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.