Suite, for Claude Debussy in Memoriam
Drew Hammond


Premiered by the Royal Scottish National Orchestra Chamber Group at the Claude Debussy In Memoriam concert at the University of Glasgow Memorial Chapel  on 22 March, 2018, along with a number of pieces by fellow contemporary composers.

The impetus for the concert was to present contemporary works inspired by one of Debussy's most tantalizing might-have-beens, the incomplete Sonates pour six divers instruments, of which he only finished the sonatas for flute, viola and harp; cello and piano; and violin and piano.  Works in the 22 March concert are written for the remaining ensembles of that unfinished collection: a trio of oboe, horn and harpsichord, and a quartet of clarinet, basson, trumpet and piano.  My piece, entitled Suite for Claude Debussy in Memoriam, is for the entire twelve-player ensemble. 

Here's the score:

Debussy's own sonatas from the incomplete collection, for flute, viola and harp; cello and piano; and violin and piano, were also performed at the concert.  

Instrumentation Genre Ensemble (with conductor)
Tag orchestra
Duration 12 minutes
Instrumentation Flute [1 player]; Oboe [1 player]; Clarinet [1 player]; Bassoon [1 player]; Horn [1 player]; Trumpet [1 player]; Harp [1 player]; Piano [1 player]; Violin [1 player]; Viola [1 player]; Cello [1 player]; Double bass [1 player]

Performances of this work

Date Venue Performer Link
22/03/2018 University of Glasgow Memorial Chapel, Glasgow, Scotland, UK

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.