Little Black Lies
Matthew Whiteside


Sophie can’t remember how old she is or the last time she left the house. You probably heard about the war in her country. No? Well, everybody left but Sophie still has plenty of friends. Look! Here they are now… Exploring the stories we tell ourselves in order to live better with reality, Little Black Lies is written by Glasgow-based composer and sound designer Matthew Whiteside, and Danish playwright and poet Helene Grøn.

Instrumentation Genre Stage and ensemble
Tag orchestra
Collaborators Helene Grøn
Collaboration details Librettist
Duration 18 minutes
Instrumentation Flute [1 player]; Clarinet [1 player]; Bassoon [1 player]; Horn [1 player]; Trumpet [1 player]; Percussion [2 players] (Bass drum, Bongos, Cabasa, Cymbals, Snare drum, Tam-Tam, Tom-Toms, Vibraphone); Chorus [30 players]; Violin 1 (section) [8 players]; Violin 2 (section) [5 players]; Viola (section) [4 players]; Cello (section) [3 players]; Doublebass (section) [1 player]

Performances of this work

Date Venue Performer Link
05/04/2018 (*premiére) None
new event
Abbey Church, North Berwick, Scotland, UK

New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.