Scottish Awards for New Music 2019

Find out more about the winners and shortlist of the Scottish Awards for New Music 2019 below



Dorico Award for Small / Medium Scale Work sponsored by Steinberg (1-10 performers)

  • Winner: James Dillon – Quartet No. 9
  • Claire McCue – I Regret Your Sex
  • Lisa Robertson - The Inimitable Brightness of the Air

More info on the shortlist


Large scale New Work (11+ performers) sponsored by PRS for Music

  • Winner: Helen Grime – Woven Space
  • David Fennessy - Triptych
  • Ailie Robertson – Caoineadh

More info on the shortlist


The Good Spirits Co award for innovation in New Traditional Music

  • Winner: Ailie Robertson - Seven Sorrows
  • Winner: Grit Orchestra - Bothy Culture
  • Niteworks

More info on the shortlist


EVM Award for Electroacoustic/sound art work

  • Winner: Pippa Murphy - Breathe In Me
  • Louise Harris - Visaurihelix
  • Alex Menzies - Other World Music Vol 1

More info on the shortlist


Community/Education project

  • Winner: Lost At Sea - East Neuk Festival / Scanner / Svend McEwan-Brown
  • Get Composing – sound
  • Incredible Distance - Scottish Chamber Orchestra / WHALE Arts / Fruitmarket Gallery / Scottish Society of Artists

More info on the shortlist


The RCS Award for Contribution to new music in Scotland

  • Winner: Red Note Ensemble
  • Enterprise Music Scotland
  • Fiona Robertson

More on the shortlist


Prize for Collaboration

  • Winner: Simon Thacker's Svara - Kanti Simon Thacker Neyveli/ B. Venkatesh/ K.V. Gopalakrishna/ N Guruprasad/ Farida Yesmin/ Raju Das Baul / Sunayana Ghosh
  • Anthems for Queer Youth - Patricia Auchterlonie / Gareth Mattey / Savage Parade / Robert Reid Allan
  • WEAR - Alistair White / UU Studios / Gemma A. Williams

More info on the shortlist


Recorded New Work

  • Winner: softLOUD - Sean Shibe - Delphian Records
  • ANNO:Four Seasons by Anna Meredith & Antonio Vivaldi - Anna Meredith and the Scottish Ensemble - Moshi Moshi Music
  • Out of Silence - John Mcleod / RSNO / Evelyn Glennie / Holly Mathieson -  Delphian Records

More info on the shortlist


Award for Creative Programming

  • Winner: sound
  • Counterflows
  • The Night With…

More info on the shortlist


The RCS Award for Making it Happen

  • Winner: Nevis Ensemble
  • Glasgow Experimental Music Series
  • Nordic Viola

More info on the shortlist


New Music Performer(s) of the Year

  • Winner: Garth Knox
  • Drake Music Scotland

More info on the shortlist


The 2019 awards were judged by an independant panel of:

  • Aisling Agnew : flautist with Hard Rain Soloist Ensemble and other contemporary ensembles
  • Ian Anderson : previous Scottish Awards for New Music winner, principal viola Scottish Ballet and performs with Duo van Vliet and Wooden Elephant
  • Björn Heile : Professor of Music specialising in music post 1900, University of Glasgow,
  • Gunnar Karel Másson :  composer and Artistic Director of Dark Music Days
  • Graham McKenzie : Artistic Director & Chief Executive of the Huddersfield Contemporary
    Music Festival
  • Lindsay Pell : Senior Producer, Music, BBC Scotland
  • Osmo Tapio Räilälä :  composer and Artistic Director of Nordic Music Days
  • Eleanor Wilson :  violinist, composer and General Manager of NMC Records


With thanks to the following funders for supporting the overall Scottish Awards for New Music:


New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.