Scottish Awards for New Music 2020

The Scottish Awards for New Music 2020 event should have taken place in Dundee's V&A Museum in March 2020, but due to the Covid-19 pandemic it was moved online. You can watch the event here:


Large Scale New Work (11+ performers) sponsored by PRS for Music

Winner - Stuart MacRae: Anthropocene

David Fenessy : Conquest of the Useless

Thea Musgrave : Trumpet Concerto


The RCS Award for Contribution to New Music in Scotland

Winner - Drake Music Scotland

Cathie Boyd

Chamber Music Scotland


The RCS Award for Making it Happen

Winner - Ben Lunn : Diversions

The Night With… : Matthew Whiteside

Nordic Viola : Katherine Wren


The ISM prize for Collaboration

Winner - Diversions : Ben Lunn / Drake Music Scotland / Hebrides Ensemble / the Queen’s Hall in Edinburgh

Physical Education : Robert Reid Allan / Sasha Balmazi-Owen / Richard Court

Rough Breathing : Nichola Scrutton / Alex South


Scottish New Music Performer(s) of the Year

Winner - Scottish Ensemble

Sarah Watts

Richard Craig


Environment Sustainability

Winner - Nevis Ensemble

Below the Blanket : Cryptic

Chamber Music Scotland


The Dorico Award for Small / Medium Scale New Work (1 - 10 performers) sponsored by Steinberg

Winner - The Tuning : Martin Suckling

Two Panels for String Quartet : Alastair White

The Wet Desert - A Collection of Highland Perspectives : Lisa Robertson


Electroacoustic / Sound Artwork

Winner - Dhātu : Edwin Hillier

Listening Cave : Calum Scott

…shadows that in darkness dwell… : Timothy Cooper


Community/Education project

Joint Winner - Tinderbox Collective

Joint Winner - SCO Soundmoves

Sound Symphony : Ellie Griffiths with Sonia Allori, Shioi Usui and Greg Sinclair, Katy Wilson (designer) and Colin Grenfell (lighting)


The Good Spirits Co Award for Innovation in New Traditional Music

Winner - 365 : Aidan O’Rourke and Kit Downes

The Reeling : Brighde Chaimbeul

Face to Face : Twelfth Day


Recorded New Work

Winner - Airs from Another Planet : Chamber Music and Songs by Judith Weir. Hebrides Ensemble/Delphian Records

Sensations of Travel : Chamber Music by Nigel Osborne. Hebrides Ensemble/Delphian Records

Panopticon : David Fennessy / Psappha / Hebrides Ensemble / Ensemble Modern / Münchener Kammerorchester / NMC


The SMIA Award for Creative Programming

Winner - The Night With… : Matthew Whiteside

Diversions : Ben Lunn / Drake Music Scotland’s Digital Orchestra and Hebrides Ensemble

Sound Festival : Fiona Robertson


With thanks to our sponsors and funders for supporting individual categories and the Scottish Awards for New Music 2020 as a whole




New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.