Scottish Awards for New Music 2021



8.00 pm, Wednesday 7th July

Streamed online from the RSNO Centre (via the NMS website)


This year's award will be designed and produced by artist Charlott Rodgers



Below is the 2021 shortlist. Click through to each of the categories to find out more about the works, what the panel said and listen to the music.


Award for Large Scale New Work (11+ performers), sponsored by PRS for Music
- Above the Stars: Aileen Sweeney
- Pharmakeia: James Dillon
- This Departing Landscape: Martin Suckling
- Night Thoughts: Matthew Whiteside
- Vigil I: Ninfea Cruttwell-Reade


Good Spirits Co Award for Innovation in New Traditional Music
-  My Light Shines On: Aidan O’Rourke with Brìghde Chaimbeul, Bashir Saade, Rachel Sermani and Graeme Stephen/Edinburgh International Festival
- The Declaration: GRIT Orchestra  
- Down the Line: Alastair Savage and Charli Ashton


Mark McKergow Award for Innovation in Jazz
- Corto Alto: Liam Shortall
- Deepening the River: Paul Towndrow
- Playtime


Award for Installation/Sound Art/Electroacoustic New Work
- Be Mine in Patience: an embrace in B Minor – Michael Begg
- Cheap Emotions: Darlene Zarabozo
-  Stolen Voices: Rebecca Collins and Johanna Linsley
-  these bones, this flesh, this skin: Martin Suckling with Joan Clevillé and Genevieve Reeves


The ISM Award for New Music in Covid Times
- Distant Duets: Drake Music Scotland/Tinderbox Collective
- Be Mine in Patience: an embrace in B minor – Michael Begg
- Lochan Sketches: Nevis Ensemble
- Covid-19 Sound Map: Pete Stollery


Award for Environmental Sustainability
- Let Them Not Say: Chris Hutchings/Choirs for Climate
- Lochan Sketches: Nevis Ensemble
- Scottish Classical Sustainability Group: Nevis Ensemble/Scottish Ensemble/various


Award for the Recording of New Music sponsored by VoxCarynx
- Erocean: LivMassive and Hessian Renegade
-  The Night With… Live Vol. One
-  Letters: David Fennessy
- From Ocean’s Floor: Linda Buckley


The Dorico Award for Small/Medium Scale Work, sponsored by Steinberg
- Reflecting Instruments: David Horne    
- High Energy Music: Nora Marazaite
- Archipelago: transmissions between islands – Lisa Robertson
- Plastica: Edwin Hillier


The Dorico Award for Solo Work, sponsored by Steinberg
- Skydance: Ailie Robertson
- Her Lullaby: Martin Suckling
- Curious-er: Sonia Allori
- Omanjana: Simon Thacker


The SMIA Award for Creative Programming
- Sonic Bites: Cryptic
- Breathe and Draw: Nevis Ensemble/Alex Ho
- Sound Festival 2020: Sound Scotland
- 2020 programme: Scottish Ensemble


The RCS Award for Education/Community Project
- StAMP: Wallace Collection/St Andrew’s University
- Intersections: Exploration 2020
- Sonic Bothy


Award for New Music in Media
- The Trial of Alex Salmond: Francis Macdonald
- Sayo: Luci Holland
- Henry Glassie Field Work: Linda Buckley


The RCS Award for Making It Happen
- Aileen Sweeney and Ben Eames: Ear to the Ground
- Ollie Hawker: The Owen Wilson Elegies
- Rufus Isabel Eliot: OVER / AT



The 2021 panellists were:

Kate Ellis: Cellist & Artistic Director, Crash Ensemble

Saeunn Thorsteinsdóttir: Cellist & Co-Artistic Director, Decoda

Lindsay Pell: BBC Radio 3/Radio Scotland

James Clapperton: Composer, pianist and festival director

Alisson Kruusmaa: Composer

Vimbayi Kaziboni: conductor (regular guest with Ensemble Modern, Ensemble InterContemporain)

Lenny Sayers: clarinetist (BBC NoW), composer and animateur

Susanne Stanzeleit: violinist (Primrose Quartet) and producer, Meridian Records

Laura Jurd: jazz trumpet and composer

Eve O'Donnell: Artistic Producer Composer Initiatives, National Sawdust

David Pickard: Director, BBC Proms

Alan Morrison: Head of Music, Creative Scotland

Jenna Reid: traditional fiddle player and composer

Fergus McWilliam: Horn player (Berlin Philharmonic) and Board Member, Sistema Scotland

Matthew Studdart-Kennedy: Head of Artistic Planning, Luxembourg Philharmonie

Eva Bocker: Cellist, Ensemble Modern

Miranda Heggie: Project Manager, BCMG NEXT

Ceiri Torjussen: Film composer

Fergus Linehan: Director, Edinburgh International Festival

Dr Aly McCluskie: Senior Conservation Scientist, RSPB

Jane Nicolson: Classical PR Specialist, Classroom Teacher (music specialism)

John Kenny: trombonist


The Awards are created by New Music Scotland with support from the National Lottery through Creative Scotland’s Open Project Fund. Award sponsors include Dorico Steinberg, PRS for Music, The Good Spirits Co, Mark McKergow, the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, the Incorporated Society of Musicians, the Scottish Music Industry Association, and the Musicians’ Union.





New Music Scotland will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at We will treat your information with respect. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information to keep you updated with relevant new music (as defined on our website) news, events and invitations to submit information both by us and shared with us by the new music community.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.